Alter – European Society for Disability Research

Motion of ALTER, 20th january 2020

The learned society Alter – European Society for Disability Research and Alter – European Journal of Disability Research, an international journal specializing in the analysis of disability situations, are fully supporting  the social movement of opposition to the pension reform system bill as well as the projects of reform announced targeting higher education and research in France. They also express their support for hospital staff on strike. These movements, although centered on the current situation in France, echo other similar movements in various countries around the world, denouncing the weakening of social welfare systems and professional statuses. 

We are concerned about the inequities brought about by the decline in the social welfare protection and health care systems. We point out to the fact that people with disabilities and their carers, who are totally absent from the draft bill and not consulted in the ongoing public debate, face specific situations that must be given specific consideration and are particularly concerned by situations of arduous labor and their consequences on their overall health. 

Finally, we are alarmed by the increasingly precarious working conditions in Higher Education and Research and the challenging of the freedom of academic knowledge production resulting from the introduction in the last fifteen years in France of multiple laws regulating Higher Education and Research. We remind our readers how much disability research has made possible for several decades to conceptualise and support the emancipation of people with disabilities and the transformation of society with the scope to promote inclusion. We join other initiatives taken by various scientific journals to advance knowledge on the adverse effects of these policies and promote its wide dissemination to the readership. We call for scientific articles, position papers, commentaries and personal statements for publication in future issues of the journal.

 

Alter ESDR is an international learned society dedicated to the advancement of interdisciplinary research in social sciences and humanities in the area of disabilities. Particular emphasis is placed on the plurality of scientific approaches and knowledge (theoretical, applied, grounded on the experience of disability) provided by this research area.

Established with a focus on Europe, the society welcomes scholars in the international scientific community. Alter ESDR welcomes all having an interest in disability research, without exception or particular orientation.

Alter, European Journal of Disability Research

Alter, European Journal Journal of Disability Research

Alter, European Journal of Disability Research is a European, bilingual, peer reviewed journal of human and social sciences on disability. Alter is the journal of Alter, European Society for Disability Research / Société Européenne de Recherche sur le Handicap, hence its title.

Alter addresses everyone interested in the results of research on disability and otherness: researchers, students, teachers, persons concerned by disability, political decision-makers, professionals, organisations of people with disabilities…

Alter, Société européenne de recherche sur le handicap

Motion d’ALTER, 20 janvier 2020

 

La société savante Alter – European Society for Disability Research et la revue Alter – European Journal of Disability Research, revue internationale spécialisée dans l’analyse des situations de handicap, s’associent pleinement au mouvement de contestation relatif au projet de loi sur les retraites et aux réformes annoncées pour l’Enseignement supérieur et la recherche en France et expriment leur soutien aux personnels hospitaliers en grève. Ces mouvements, bien que français, font écho à d’autres mouvements dans divers pays du monde, dénonçant la fragilisation de systèmes de protection sociale et de statuts professionnels. 

Nous nous inquiétons des inégalités produites par le déclin de la protection sociale et au système de soins. Nous rappelons que les personnes en situation de handicap et leurs aidants, totalement absents du projet de loi et du débat public actuel, connaissent des situations particulières qui doivent être prises en compte et sont particulièrement concernés par la pénibilité du travail et ses conséquences. 

Nous nous inquiétons enfin des conditions de plus en plus précaires des travailleurs de l’Enseignement supérieur et de la recherche et de la remise en cause de l’autonomie des savoirs académiques, dont les différentes lois relatives à l’Enseignement Supérieur et la Recherche sont responsables depuis une quinzaine d’années en France. Nous rappelons combien la recherche dans le champ du handicap a permis depuis plusieurs décennies de penser et d’accompagner l’émancipation des personnes en situation de handicap et la transformation de la société dans une perspective d’inclusion. Nous nous associons aux initiatives prises par les revues scientifiques pour développer les connaissances sur les effets délétères de ces politiques et accroître leur diffusion auprès du public. Nous appelons à nous adresser dès à présent des articles, des points de vue, des témoignages, qui pourraient être publiés dans les prochains numéros de la revue.


Alter, Société Européenne de Recherche sur le Handicap, est une société savante dont l’objet est de promouvoir la recherche en sciences sociales et humaines sur le handicap. L’accent est mis sur la pluralité des approches scientifiques et des savoirs (théoriques, appliqués, issus de l’expérience du handicap…) qu’offre ce domaine de recherche.

Ciblée sur l’Europe, la société est néanmoins ouverte à la communauté scientifique internationale. Alter ESDR s’adresse plus largement à tous ceux qui s’intéressent au handicap et aux questions qu’il soulève, sans réserve quant aux orientations de recherche.

Alter, Revue européenne de recherche sur le handicap

Alter, Revue européenne de recherche sur le handicap, est une revue à comité de lecture consacrée à la recherche en sciences sociales et humaines sur le handicap et les altérités. Alter est la revue de Alter Société Européenne de Recherche sur le Handicap / European Society for Disability Research, d’où son titre.

Elle s’adresse à tous ceux que les résultats de la recherche sur le handicap et les altérités intéresse : chercheurs, étudiants, enseignants, personnes concernées par le handicap, décideurs politiques, professionnels, organisations de personnes handicapées…