Alter, Journal

Alter, European Journal of Disability Research is a European, bilingual, peer reviewed journal of human and social sciences on disability. Alter is the journal of Alter, European Society for Disability Research / Société Européenne de Recherche sur le Handicap, hence its title.

Why Alter? Alter is a polysemic Latin word which either refers to what appears to be different or what is undergoing change, it thus leaves open the questions of nature and form of said differences or changes.

Alter addresses everyone interested in the results of research on disability and otherness: researchers, students, teachers, persons concerned by disability, political decision-makers, professionals, organisations of people with disabilities…

 

A scientific journal. Alter is a peer-reviewed journal. Its editorial line and activities are designed and implemented by a multidisciplinary and international Editorial Board, composed of experts engaged in research on disability and otherness.

 

An interdisciplinary  journal. Interdisciplinarity means first of all openness to the entire range of human and social sciences:  sociology, anthropology, ethnology, history, demography, social geography, social epidemiology, economics, law, psychology, psychoanalysis, sciences of education, sciences and techniques in sports and physical activities… It also implies connections between academic and fundamental knowledges, applied knowledges and knowledges stemming from the experience of disability.

A cross-cutting journal. Research on disability and otherness includes a multiplicity of approaches and issues. Alter’s objective is to be open to this multiplicity and in this respect to adopt a cross-cutting prospective. The scope of research covered by the journal stretches from the individual to the environment, from deficiency to participation, from discrimination to the exercise of citizenship. Alter addresses as a whole the social, economic, political, educational or health issues investigated in human and social sciences.

A European journal. The European dimension involves a multicultural outlook, argued comparisons and scientific controversies extending beyond national borders. The diversified geographical origins of the Editorial Board members, of the reviewers and authors of the papers submitted and published demonstrates that the journal is widely open to international contributions beyond Europe itself. The readership is also international in particular via the digital dissemination of the journal.

Languages

The papers are submitted and published in English or in French, with abstracts in both languages.

Journal sections

The journal publishes various types of scientific papers under the following sections:

  • Research paper | Article original de recherche

Papers published in this section are all peer-reviewed by experts in the field. The original research papers are published in varia issues, in issues with a thematic series (of two to three papers), or in special issues (five to six papers).

  • Key texts revisited | Retour sur textes 

The journal holds this section punctually. It is dedicated to “fundamental” texts, some of them already published but deserving to be discovered or rediscovered. The texts are accompanied by a preamble which introduces the main notions and prompts their (re)discovery.

  • New considerations on past experience | Retour sur expériences 

The texts published in this section retrace the research paths of significant authors, groups or networks in the area of research on disability.

  • Short report | Note de recherche  

In this section, the punctually published short reports are selected for their particular interest to the Editorial Board. Short reports present the main results of current researches or of recently attended doctoral theses.

  • Book review | Note de lecture

Every issue includes a ‘book review’ section. The reviews published in this section can have various formats, from a note to the reader to a critical essay on several books.

Partnership with IFRH

At the time of the creation of the journal, Alter ESDR partnered with the Institut Fédératif de Recherche sur le Handicap (IFRH – Federative Institute for Disability Research). IFRH support to the journal within the framework of this partnership is the national institutional basis of IFRH in France and its international academic visibility. The partnership with IFRH also secures the journal logistic and financial support.

Publisher

Alter, European Journal of Disability Research is published by Elsevier Masson.

Publication and dissemination formats

The journal is available in a printed and in an electronic version. The journal is registered in the international bibliographic databases Science Direct and Scopus.

The digital dissemination of the journal is made from these supports.

 

How to subscribe

A reduced subscription rate to the journal is available for members of Alter ESDR.

Non-members and institutions may take out a subscription with the publisher Elsevier Masson.

 

How to submit a paper to the journal

Instructions for authors are available here.

Papers may be submitted to the Editorial Board on-line.

It is also possible to send the manuscripts to the Editorial office by email: alter@elsevier.com

 

ISSN: 1875-0672

Periodicity: 4 issues per year

Format: 165 x 240

Language of publication: English and French

Publisher: Elsevier Masson

Alter, Revue

Alter, Revue européenne de recherche sur le handicap est une revue de sciences humaines et sociales consacrée à la recherche sur le handicap et les altérités. Alter est la revue de Alter Société Européenne de Recherche sur le Handicap / European Society for Disability Research, d’où son titre.

Pourquoi Alter ? Alter est un mot latin, polysémique, qui fait tantôt référence à ce qui apparaît différent, tantôt à ce qui est transformation, il laisse donc ouvertes les questions de la nature et de la forme des différences et des transformations.

Alter s’adresse à tous ceux que les résultats de la recherche sur le handicap et les altérités intéresse : chercheurs, étudiants, enseignants, personnes concernées par le handicap, décideurs politiques, professionnels, organisations de personnes handicapées…

Alter est une revue scientifique. Il s’agit d’une revue à comité de lecture et d’une revue dont la ligne éditoriale et l’animation repose sur un Comité de rédaction pluridisciplinaire et international, composé d’experts menant des travaux de recherche sur le handicap et les altérités.
Une revue interdisciplinaire. L’interdisciplinarité signifie d’abord l’ouverture à l’ensemble des sciences humaines et sociales : sociologie, anthropologie, ethnologie, histoire, démographie, géographie sociale, épidémiologie sociale, économie, droit, psychologie, psychanalyse, sciences de l’éducation, sciences et techniques des activités physiques et sportives (STAPS) … Elle concerne aussi la connexion entre des savoirs académiques et fondamentaux et des savoirs appliqués et issus de l’expérience du handicap.
Une revue transversale. La recherche sur le handicap et les altérités comporte une multiplicité d’approches et de problématiques. Alter a pour objectif de s’y ouvrir en adoptant une perspective transversale. Le champ couvert par la revue va de l’individu à l’environnement, de la déficience à la participation, de la discrimination à l’exercice de la citoyenneté. Alter aborde l’ensemble des enjeux sociaux, économiques, politiques, d’éducation ou de santé, analysés en sciences humaines et sociales.
Une revue européenne. La dimension européenne implique une ouverture multiculturelle, des comparaisons argumentées et des controverses scientifiques qui dépassent les frontières nationales.La diversité des origines géographiques des membres du Comité de rédaction, des reviewers sollicités et des auteurs des articles proposés et publiés démontre que dans les faits la revue est largement ouverte aux contributions internationales au-delà de l’Europe proprement dite. Le lectorat, notamment via la diffusion numérique de la revue, est également international.

Langues

Les articles sont soumis et publiés en anglais ou en français, accompagnés de résumés dans les deux langues.

Rubriques

La revue publie différents types de textes scientifiques sous les rubriques suivantes :

  • Article original de recherche | Research paper

Les articles publiés sous cette rubrique sont tous soumis, sans exception, à expertise – i.e. au « peer-reviewing ».  Les articles originaux de recherche sont publiés dans des numéros varia, dans des numéros comportant un dossier thématique (de deux ou trois articles), ou encore des numéros spéciaux (de cinq à six articles).

  • Retour sur textes | Key texts revisited

La revue tient ponctuellement cette rubrique. Elle est consacrée à des textes « fondamentaux », dont certains très anciens, déjà été publiés mais qui méritent d’être découverts ou redécouverts. Les textes sont accompagnés d’un préambule introduisant les principales notions et incitant à leur (re)découverte.

  • Retour sur expériences  | New considerations on past experience

Les textes publiés dans cette rubrique reviennent sur le parcours de recherche d’auteurs, de groupes ou de réseaux particulièrement marquants dans le domaine de la recherche sur le handicap.

  • Note de recherche  | Short report

Dans cette rubrique sont ponctuellement publiées des notes dont l’intérêt particulier a été relevé par le Comité de rédaction. Ce sont des compte-rendu de recherches en cours, ou encore la présentation d’une thèse de doctorat récemment soutenue.

  • Note de lecture | Book review

Chaque numéro de la revue comprend une rubrique « Notes de lecture ». Les recensions publiées dans la rubrique peuvent prendre différents formats, de la note de lecture à l’essai critique portant sur plusieurs ouvrages.

Partenariat avec l’IFRH

Alter ESDR a noué un partenariat avec l’Institut Fédératif de Recherche sur le Handicap (IFRH) au moment de la création de la revue. Le soutien qu’apporte l’IFRH à la revue dans le cadre de ce partenariat tient à l’assise institutionnelle nationale qu’a l’IFRH en France et à sa visibilité académique internationale. Le partenariat avec l’IFRH assure également à la revue un soutien logistique et financier.

Editeur

La revue est éditée par Elsevier Masson.

Formats d’édition et de diffusion

Alter paraît en version papier et en version électronique. La revue est référencée dans les bases de données bibliographiques internationales Science Direct et Scopus.

La diffusion numérique de la revue se fait à partir de ces supports.

Conditions d’abonnement

Les adhérents d’Alter ESDR peuvent souscrire un abonnement à un tarif préférentiel.

Les non-adhérents et les institutions souscriront un abonnement directement auprès de l’éditeur Elsevier Masson.

Soumettre un texte à la revue

Les auteurs peuvent se procurer les instructions aux auteurs ici.

Les textes peuvent être soumis au Comité de rédaction de la revue en ligne .

Il est également possible d’envoyer les manuscrits par email au secrétariat de la rédaction : alter@elsevier.com

ISSN : 1875-0672

Périodicité : 4 n° par an

Format : 165 x 240

Langue de publication : français et anglais

Editeur : Elsevier Masson